An enneagram is a nine pointed star composed of three overlapping triangles.

A nonagram is any nine-pointed polygon. In esoteric kabbalistic doctrine, it represents the sphere of Yesod, the moon, dreams and illusions. The enneagram is a well known emblem of the Baha’i faith, symbolizing the value of the word baha, “glory.”

Another type of enneagram was devised by the esoteric philosopher Gurdjieff, a nine pointed glyph. The emblem’s unusual shape is constructed by mapping the sequence of musical octaves, and has come to represent Gurdjieff’s Fourth Way Society and its philosophies.

Gurdjieff’s enneagram is likely based on the kabbalistic tree of life, and accordingly, is said to represent the underlying geometry of the universe.

{ 2 trackbacks }

Religious Symbol Dictionary | symboldictionary.net
October 9, 2009 at 11:24 am
Child Genius Reveals Symbolic Pattern Hidden In The 4 Times Table - USA for Americans!
September 18, 2016 at 11:24 am


DAWNATILLA November 5, 2014 at 1:43 pm

the NONAGRAM is a nine pointed star and it isnt shown here!

Jennifer November 7, 2014 at 8:42 am

Of course it’s shown here…

Sonja October 17, 2012 at 12:21 am

Doesn’t this also represent personalities? in a psychological perspective? Something along the lines of personality categorized from numbers 1 through 9. Also with the titles of which people may find their personalities labelled: The Peacemaker, The Reformer, The Helper etc…

M. Mastermann July 5, 2009 at 8:15 pm

Where is the 9 pointed star; the natural expansion of 1; 3, 5, 7 then 9 pointed stars?

DAWNATILLA November 5, 2014 at 1:44 pm

exactly. one should perhaps refer to SLIPKNOT..haha

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: