Pa Kua (Bagua, Ba Gua)

The Pa Kua are the eight trigrams described in the I Ching; the combinations of whole and broken lines represent the constantly fluctuating elemental forces of the universe: Pa Kua also refers to a wooden hexagram containing the eight trigrams with a mirrored center, which is hung over doorways as a protective charm. This device is popular with practitioners of Feng Shui.

The Ba-gua is also used as the logo of the “Dharma initiative” on the television drama Lost.

To learn more about the I Ching, and how to use it as a system of divination: I Ching


Related Symbols:

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: