A representation of the emblems of the Vedic tattwas. In the ancient Vedic symbolism of India, tattwas represented the five elements, or states of being and matter, which combine to create the material and spiritual universe: water, air, earth, fire, and spirit.

The five together form the Aum, represented architecturally by the Stupa, a form used in Indian and Tibetan temple architecture. The tattwas as adapted in Western magick are used as meditational aids representing doorways to altered states of consciousness.


Related Symbols:


{ 1 trackback }

Religious Symbol Dictionary | symboldictionary.net
October 7, 2009 at 1:58 pm

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: