Triratna, (Tiratana, Tisarana, Triple Gem, Three Treasures, Threefold Refuge)

The tiratana is Buddhist emblem symbolizing the three jewels, or “refuges” of Buddhism. The symbolism is likely drawn from the Vedic trisula, which has similar interpretations.

The three Refuges are: the Buddha, the Dharma (the teachings of the Buddha), and the Sangha (the community of believers), as well as additional layers of symbolism, such as:

The three virtues of the Buddha:wisdom, purity, compassion

The three parts of the Pali Canon, or Tripitaka (“three collections,” the earliest Buddhist canon), which includes the Vinaya, guidelines for behavior, Sutra, discourses and stories of the Buddha, and Abhidharma, Metaphysical teachings.

Related Symbols:


{ 1 trackback }

Do you know what you worship? | Unlocked Wisdom
January 27, 2011 at 6:27 am

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: