Nine Worlds

A graphic depiction of the Nine Worlds in Norse cosmology, which is divided into three realms. These are: In the Upper Realm:
Asgard, the abode of the Aesir, ruled by Odin, the chief of the Norse Gods. Vanaheim, the dwelling-place of the Vanir. Alfheim, the world of elves, ruled by Freyr.
Below, connected to the upper realm by Bifrost, the rainbow bridge:
Midgard, meaning “middle earth,” this is the abode of humanity, the physical plane. Midgard is surrounded by the Ocean, the abode of the world serpent Jormungand. Jotunheim, the home of the Jotuns, or giants. Svartalfheim, the world of the dark elves, an underground kingdom.
The lowest level, the Land of the Dead, also has three realms:
Niflheim, a frozen wasteland, eternal darkness, ruled by the Goddess Hel. Muspelheim, the realm of the fire giants. Hel, the abode of the dead.
Diagram of the Nine Worlds
Related Symbols:


Ivarsson September 20, 2017 at 12:58 pm

“Midgard, meaning “middle earth,” ” actually directly translated “midgard” means middle-farm or the farm in the middle
mid – middle
gard- farm/farmstead
Still many norwegian dialects use “gard” instead of the dictionary version for farm “gård”, Gard is also a common boys name used mainly in the east and some northern counties but not as common in the western part of norway though.

Ivarsson September 20, 2017 at 1:16 pm

Mid* derivation of the norwegian word for middle – “midten” in todays spoken Norwegian, so one can even argue that it could be interpreted as “Mid” meaning center – “senter” or centralfarm/mainfarm – the conscious existential plain for physical beings – “the now” , witch is of importance for the living and the ones living it but not really ruled by the living or the ones experiencing it. But by the gods and other ethereals/deities

Luke Price-Robinson March 26, 2015 at 11:10 pm

I know it would not be possible to include all information regarding the Asatru Cosmology, one character in particular is missing from the description. Most beings, mortal, God or Giant, must cross the Bifrost, guarded by Heimdall. The creature Ratatosk, a mischievous squirrel, has his own network of paths up and down Yggdrasil. Unfortunately, most of the time Ratatosk spreads nasty gossip and pits the Eagle against Jormungand, leading to trouble for someone!

David Hansen October 4, 2012 at 6:58 pm

I am looking for Norse symbols for the nine noble virtues if you can tell where i can find them that would be awesome. Thank you

Robin October 9, 2011 at 2:32 pm

magnificent. very well explained.
simple, but directly to the point. like how the info is well organaized. just came to memorize the names of the 3 levels of the tree but went out with more valueable info. thanks for the help!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: